in the Category: art

I like that my place is a kind of cocoon in which I can hide away

Age: 26

Zodiac sign: Virgo

Pronouns: she/her

Location: Ghent/Brussels

Subbacultcha member since: 2022

@hannahcornelus

Tell us, what do you do in life?

I’m finishing my PhD in contemporary French literature, it’s about the environmental crisis and how novels can help us to think differently, to stop seeing humanity as something outside of the natural world or superior to it, by abandoning dualistic thinking (humanity vs nature, mind vs body, subject vs object, man vs woman etc.) and focusing on interconnectivity and the ecological concept of the ‘mesh’.

Besides that, I play the bass in a band called Lip Service. I also like taking pictures with my analogue camera: I believe walking around with a camera makes you look at everyday things differently and allows you to see things you would otherwise overlook.

Walking around with a camera makes you look at everyday things differently

What do you like best about your place?

My apartment is stuffed with colourful and weird things I found at flea markets and second-hand shops over the course of many years. I also have a lot of plants; I like that my place is a kind of cocoon in which I can hide away among things I love or that intrigue me.

What kind of music are you listening to at the moment?

Cate Le Bon’s music fits in almost every setting.  I like dancing to Meridian Brothers.

 

What’s the first record you bought?

That must be Elephant by the White Stripes.

 

What’s your favourite pastime?

These days I like making weird little animals and masks out of papier-mâché; I like doing things with my hands to counterbalance, to give my thinking mind (is that a thing?) a break. Cooking and taking pictures also work.

Any guilty pleasures?

Why do pleasures have to be guilty?

 

If you could be famous, what kind of celebrity would you be?

A mysterious one, who stays out of the spotlight. Although I would also like to be a rockstar, that may contradict what I just said.

 

Have you experienced any regrets recently?

I should take more time to enjoy the sun and just lie in a park reading a book or doing nothing at all.

 

Which future Subbacultcha event are you looking forward to?

Moar and Pega at De Roes (Ghent) and Rock Zerkegem.

 

Who do you wanna give credits to?

My parents, my brothers and my boyfriend @achieldevlerk for the inspiration and encouragement, always.

Rock Zerkegem
23/07 - Zerkegem
Free for Subba members

Sub_missions is your way to promote your stuff to fellow members and other possible fans!
As a Subbacultcha member, we'll feature you in our magazine and online channels.
Not a member yet? In this section, you’ll learn about our members’ lives, perspectives and art. Enjoy!
Submit here

Portrait shot by @achieldevlerk