The Sound Of The Belgian Underground issue

Past a certain age, two years are hardly something to write home about. Yet when it comes to the Belgian underground, that time span can be defining. It can prove ripening, taking a long pored-over sound and honing it till it reaches the next level. It can also unearth the voices simmering beneath that won’t remain unheard as long as they have something to say, whatever their form: liquid sonic explorations, soulful chants, echoing electronics, the guitar tricks of yesterday colliding with the trance dance of tomorrow. Don’t let the grey stillness of this little land fool you; its sounds and voices are powerful and uncontainable, honest and resonant, and we are happy to once more let them run free before your eyes and ears.


Front cover: Amina Saâdi

Editors in chief: Herlinde Raeman & Kasper-Jan Raeman
Magazine editors: Julien Van de Casteele & Gabriela González
Copy editor: Megan Roberts
Design: Chloe D’hauwe
Website editors: Valerie Steenhaut & Thomas Vanoosthuyse
Community Management: Lisa Wallyn
Advertising & partnerships: Kasper-Jan Raeman
Distribution: Herlinde Raeman
Printer: Drukkerij GEWADRUPO, Arendonk, Belgium

Contributing writers: Gabriela González, Julien Van de Casteele, Nicolas Baudoin, Anaïs Violet Van Eldere, Matias Calderon, Souria Cheurfi, Crevette Records, Slagwerk, Koi Persyn, Isaline Raes, Valerie Steenhaut, Hannes Rooms & Sabzian

Contributing photographers: Tiny Geeroms, Catherine Lemblé, Sasha Vernaeve, Miles Fischler, Stine Sampers, Rebecca Quix & Miles Fischler

Contributing artists: Gabriela González & Amina Saâdi

Thank you: Isaac Barbé, Mattias Baertsoen, Niloufar Nematollahi, Hannes Rooms, Vicky Derweduwen, Lindsey De Laet, Mert Sen, Jeroen Albertijn, Mona Vermeiren, Pieter Dauwe, Mats Wosky, Junior Bokele, Paulina De Vleesschouwer, Margaux Fabris, Kellan Smith, Lynn Cailliau, Anna Hortense Vanden Brande, Naoki Karathanassis, Nelson Henry, Lara Decrae, Jelle Dens, Isabelle Vanderstockt, Valerie Buckenmeyer, Melanie Musisi, Eline De Vos, Axelle Vertommen, Gert Van Dijck, Lisa Alemán Arévalo, Sofia Van Laer, Amani Wijte, Maria Antchougova, Amaury Wilkin and friends, Ian Wiglema, Emilia Vangrinsven, Frederik Vliege, Pascal Vandenberghe & Frederic Busscher

Partners: Botanique, Beursschouwburg, Het Bos, GEWADRUPO, Vooruit, Democrazy, Cactus, VUB KultuurKaffee, ICC Distribution, deSingel, AB, IFFR, Bilbo, Greenhouse Talent, Anima, Trix, KVS, Madame Moustache, Go With The Flow, JauneOrange, PopKatari, Deep In House, Campo, Vooruit, Le Vecteur, Cosmic Slime, In De Ruimte, Cinematek, Argos, KASK Cinema, Cinema Zuid & BPS22